Think Of The Good Stuff

Mariam Naeem
3 min readJul 22, 2021
Photo by MARK ADRIANE on Unsplash

I’ve seen people struggle from time to time with accepting themselves and being comfortable in their own skin.

I understand that. I used to be one of them. I still occasionally feel a little like an impostor, sometimes I feel I shouldn’t be writing things like this or giving any sort of advice. You would say I’m not exactly one to talk…

But I will talk. I must. If only to let people know that it’s okay not to feel comfortable until they do. It’s a moment of exploration isn’t it? We’re trying to figure out who we are and where we fit in. But you can’t discover who you truly are by feeling like you have to adhere to other people’s “image” of you.

Give yourself the freedom to explore what you like in terms of clothes, hairstyles, body, speech, thoughts, opinions etc. You’re only going to find YOU when you stop following everyone else’s footsteps and create your own.

It’s just a moment of negativity we have when we face ourselves in the mirror but sometimes you have to look to SEE. How are you going to know who you are if you refuse to face yourself? Be bold. Stand tall in the mirror. Don’t shy away from the eyes staring back at you.

We can only discover ourselves if we allow ourselves time to grow. Time to think. Time to try different things before you settle on what FITS who you are. My own journey has…

--

--